WTF?

A supposed man of God slobbering all over himself to praise a politician is absurd. This is 90% silliness but I can’t help feeling it is flirting with blasphemy.

I can understand someone voting for Trump as the lesser of two evils (though one could make an equally coherent argument that Clinton was the lesser of two evils). I can understand the argument that Trump was needed to shake things up, even if I don’t agree. I get why Trump won over the competition.

But this I can’t understand.

What ever happened to all that stuff about putting not your trust in men? But we were warned about false prophets, weren’t we.

The Christian Right, despite some involuntary spasms, is dead; Trump has exposed them just like he has exposed other institutions. Being a Christian in the world is about navigating conflicting loyalties: sometimes we fool ourselves into thinking that we can serve two masters, I know I do, but sooner or later these people are going to realize they can be better Trumpkins if they were not Christian.

The conflicting loyalties are deadly. Remember the sad, chilling words of the Lord: they have made their choice.

One comment

  1. Hmmm. Well, I was quite encouraged by Pastor Jeffress and I’m rather grateful for President Trump.

Leave a Reply

