Last post about Trump

I promise, no more posts about Donald Trump for at least a month.

I did not vote for him and will not if he runs again. Most of my initial opinions have not changed: he is not fit for the office of the Presidency, he is vacuous and vulgar, a shameless self-promoter, and not a fraction of the businessman he claims to be. His election a sign of cultural decline and institutional rot.

But I understand why people like him: he is friendly and upbeat and not afraid to speak his mind. I underestimated his ability: he manged to hijack the Republican party and deal the Democrats their biggest humiliation since Sherman’s March to the Sea.

And while he displays egregious character flaws, they are the exact sort of flaws most people have but don’t have the money or shamelessness to commit on a grand scale.

He is not without virtue either. Chances are you know a few people just like Donald Trump, enjoy their company, and consider them friends. Robert Kraft, the Boston-based billionaire (who is an excellent businessman) had this to say about Trump:

“When Myra (Kraft’s wife) died, Melania and Donald came up to the funeral in our synagogue, then they came for memorial week to visit with me,” Kraft said. “Then he called me once a week for the whole year, the most depressing year of my life when I was down and out. He called me every week to see how I was doing, invited me to things, tried to lift my spirits. He was one of five or six people that were like that. I remember that.”

Let’s all stop hyperventilating.

One comment

  1. LOL! I am not hyperventilating, but I know many people are. I feel like we should be handing out paper bags for them to breath into.

Leave a Reply

