Another Take On Trumpism

Warden, an occasionally cute internet troll and co-blogger at Ace of Spades, has a post up called “How Losing My Political Values Helped Me Gain My Freedom.” It is one of the better defenses of Donald Trump in the sense that while one might not agree, it at least accurately expresses the feelings of many pro-Trump conservatives:

There aren’t any rules anymore because the left only applies them one way. And in doing so, they’ve left what once was a civil compact between the two parties in smoldering ruins.

I have no personal investment in Donald Trump. He is a tool to punish the left and roll back their ill-gotten gains, no more and no less. If he succeeds even partially in those two things, then I’ll consider his election a win.

Further, I no longer have any investment in any particular political values, save one: The rules created by the left will be applied to the left as equally and punitively as they have applied them to the right. And when they beg for mercy, I’ll begin to reconsider. Or maybe not. Because fuck these people.

This new philosophy has freed me of more emotional angst that I can describe. Literally nothing the left says or does matters to me anymore. I don’t care about their tantrums. I don’t care about their accusations. I don’t care if they say Trump is lying. I don’t care if Trump is lying.

In other words, Trump’s reliance on executive orders is not conservative in theory or style, but this is war.

There is something to be said for tit-for-tat politics. People enjoy inflicting pain and humiliation on others until someone inflicts pain and humiliation on them; getting punched in the nose is a great way to learn empathy. The left has been particularly obnoxious lately because up until November 8th, 2016 they were convinced they could never, ever, lose another Presidential election again, and wouldn’t have to worry about payback.

 

But tit-for-tat only gets you so far. It tends to freeze politics in place in apparent stasis that is really just decay. Trump might not be the cause of the decline but he is a sure sign of it.

One comment

  1. Hmm,well I have spoken out against this kind of thing, this tit for tat,the left started it so we now just use their rules against them. So jokers to the left of me, clowns to the right? Meet the old boss, same as the new boss? At some point we have to find our integrity,our values, with both hands and a flashlight if necessary. I think we’re getting there, I think it’s happening.

    The alt right for example,just a few ears ago was a cesspool of hostility, nazism, misogyny, but they are starting to refine themselves, to denounce the uglier things. We will settle once again somewhere in the middle, because that is what we as a country do. We are not a country of extremes and perpetual hotheads.

Leave a Reply

