Maine

In August I spent a weekend backpacking up in Maine’s Nahmakanta Public Reserve Land. Maine has thousands of acres of public land open to use for hiking, hunting and fishing, which they also lease to logging companies. The logging companies maintain the roads, so you have to pay a fee (about $20) to use them. The only rule on these roads is that logging trucks always have right of way.

This was my campsite the first night:

Maine 002

I was able to do a little fly fishing, but only caught a creek chub that was about two inches long. I don’t know who was more surprised, him or me.

Here is a better view of the lake:

Maine 003

The next day I went on a hike along the ridges of the little hill you see above. Below is the view from the top: you can see the lake where I camped and the little access road. The whole weekend I saw one other vehicle, and a couple of logging trucks. Otherwise not a soul.

Maine 008

Maine is famous, among other things, for its blueberries. I gorged myself on these all day:

Maine 007

Another trailside snack was the plentiful clover-like wood sorrel below. If you live in the U.S. or Canada you probably have this growing on your lawn. They have a crisp, tart flavor and are great when you are thirsty.

Maine 021

Most of these woods had been logged at one time or another but there was still plenty of old-growth in the rockier areas:Maine 018

The place was lousy with moose tracks, but I didn’t see any real moose until the 3rd day, when I had left my camera at base camp! I’m still kicking myself for missing those photos.

One comment

  1. Congratulations on a good trip, it sounds delightful. I’ve never been on that side of the country, but I have been able to hike all over the place here. I do love camping. No moose, but we do have elk.

Leave a Reply

